You Must Opt In to get Urgent & Important Information Direct to Your Phone
text:   @ClioAreaSchools to 23559
To opt out of the service, text STOP to 23559. This program allows Clio Area Schools to send only, Clio Area Schools cannot receive texts on this system. 

Your Input Matters.  Please take the appropriate survey here.

Edgerton ElementaryParents K-2nd Students 3rd-4th StudentsStaff 
Garner ElementaryParentsK-2nd Students3rd-4th StudentsStaff 
Lacure ElementaryParentsK-2nd Students3rd-4th StudentsStaffCommunity
Carter Middle SchoolParents5th-6th Students7th-8th StudentsStaff  
Clio High SchoolParentsStudentsCommunityStaff 
Clio Community HighParentsStudents Staff 



Two new members take seats on Board of Education

There are a couple of new faces on the Clio Area Schools Board of Education as newly elected members Lydia Heine and Denise Frappier were sworn in at the board’s January 13 organizational meeting. Long time board member Henry Hatter, who was reelected in November, was also administered the oath of office by board president Mary Ann Dipzinski.

Following the oath of office, the board elected officers for the coming year. Dipzinski was unanimously reelected as board president as was Steve Nordstrom to the office of board secretary. Hatter was unanimously elected as board vice president and Tim Ranville was unanimously elected as treasurer.

The Clio Area Schools Board of Education following the January 13 organizational meeting includes (left to right) front row: Trustee Lydia Heine, President Mary Ann Dipzinski,Trustee Denise Frappier; back row: Vice President Henry Hatter, Trustee Robert Gaffney, Treasurer Tim Ranville, Secretary Steve Nordstrom.

 Gregory Ganfield meets with his players Jan. 28 at Clio High School, telling them, "You will never lose a game because you were outcoached."

Clio hires Hall of Fame Football Coach Gregory Ganfield to lead Mustangs

Meet him here

Technology upgrades and access a focus for 2015

From new technology being installed across the district and making sure students and teachers in every building have access to it, to a new director of technology, 2015 may go down as "The Year of Technology" for Clio Area Schools.

First of all, shortly before the holiday break Travis Smith was brought on as the district’s director of technology. This is a move that continues the district’s cutting edge emphasis on shared services (read more)


"Clio Area Schools is preparing for a major influx of technology for students."  That was the word from Stephen Keskes, the district’s executive director of curriculum and instruction, just before the holiday break.

Keskes said the district will be bringing in some 1,200 new computers for student use. That, he added, will be accompanied by "major updates in wireless infrastructure." The result, he said, will be any student-any time access to a Wi-Fi connection.  (read more)


CAEF Teacher of the Year nominees announced

The Clio Area Educational Foundation Board has announced the nominees for Teacher of the Year for 2015 and the list includes teachers from all three elementary schools, the middle school and the high school. Those teachers nominated by fellow staff members are: Chelsea Gillean and Holly Atkinson from Garner Elementary; Kim Sather, Michelle Shmidt, and Brenda May from Edgerton Elementary; Michelle Neelands from Lacure Elementary; Kyle Hayden, Dawn Woods, Valeria Weaver, and Jennifer Boggs from Carter Middle School; Greg Johnson from Carter Middle School and Clio High School; Steve Poindexter, Ryan Sweers, and Joel Fidler from Clio High School.

All nominees will be recognized at a reception on February 4 at which a Teacher of the Year for 2015 will be announced. More details on that event will be following soon.

CAEF appreciates the hard work that every staff member does for Clio students. Please help to recognize the staff members who have been nominated as the Teacher of the Year for 2014-2015.

Protect Your Children from Adult Advertising Messages

The State of Michigan offers a free program to stop adult advertisements from reaching e-mails, mobile phones (text messaging ads) and instant messenger IDs. The Michigan Child Protection Registry, like the federal Do Not Call List, is a free do-not-contact service for Michigan’s families and schools and can be located at

The Facts about ENTEROVIRUS D68
Know the facts about this latest "flu" that is making its rounds and how best to protect you and your children. For a fact sheet and guide issued by the Genesee County Health Department, Click Here
Next Regular Meeting of the Board of Education set for February 10
The next Regular Meeting of the Clio Area Schools Board of Education will be held at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, February 10, at Lacure Elementary, 12167 Lewis Road.

Clio Mott Scholars offers both diploma and degree
Clio Area Schools is excited to open the enrollment in the Clio Mott Scholars Program.
Click Here to go to the Clio Mott Scholars page or select the Clio Mott Scholars Link on the left Navigation Bar for further information.
Lunch Account Portal for Parents
Clio Area Schools is pleased to maintain a Lunch Accounts portal to parents for student lunch account balance review and payment. The details can be found on the Lunch Accounts link from the Parents Menu above or click here.
ATTENTION: Don't use leading zeros when entering student number.

1/p1689294775_44.gif  Character Pledge

I pledge to be a person of character; I will be worthy of great trust. I will be respectful and responsible in doing what I must. I will always act with fairness, never bully, always care. I will be a first-rate citizen and always do my share.

Violence Prevention Hotline Now Available Statewide

The Michigan State Police and the Michigan Department of Educaiton have established a statewide school violence hotline (800) 815-TIPS.  It's available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

  Standard and Poors School Evaluation Services
Learn more about Clio Area Schools.